Bonn Jazz Orchestra

Bonn Jazz Orchester im Pantheon Casino 2015
Foto von Frank Schulze

The band members are well-known jazz musicians from Bonn who got to know each other in the music academies of Europe, the state youth jazz orchestras and the BundesJazzOrchester.
Bandleader, trombonist and arranger Oliver Pospiech has been the leader of the big band of the University of Bonn since 2002, which has made a name for itself as one of the best university big bands in Germany. Furthermore, he is known nationwide as the musical director of the Cologne Stunksitzung. The program includes the finest big band literature by classic jazz composers from Thad Jones to Bill Holman to Brookmeyer and much more.


Torsten Thomas – tenor saxophone
Thomas Heck – alto saxophone
Heiner Wiberny – alto saxophone
Markus Land – alto saxophone – until October 2016
Thomas Kimmerle – tenor saxophone
Shawn Spicer – baritone saxophone

Oliver Pospiech – trombone, musical director
Adi Becker – trombone
Dave Horler – trombone
Stefan Weitershagen – bass trombone

Frank Wiesen – trumpet
Michael Kuhl – trumpet
Jürgen Roth – trumpet
Herwig Barthes – trumpet
Hagen Fritzsche – trumpet
Claus Thormählen – trumpet

Oliver Leue – piano
Markus Braun – double bass
Leif Battermann – drums

Guest musicians:

Dusko Goykovich, Christine Corvisier, Janning Trumann, Andy Hunter, Christian Mehler